Increasing number of people are choosing cosmetology surgery to improve their appearance. What are the reasons? Do you think is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years more and more people opt for surgeries to change something about their appearance. This is due to the fact that social media created some beauty standards that are hard to achieve, and also because medicine has improved so much that now individuals can modify almost anything about their looks. Firstly, we now live in an age where social media apps, like Instagram or TikTok, are part of our day-to-day life, and people with a large number of followers have become influencers. They usually consist of men or women that are considered attractive by the society that the live in, thus creating some beauty standards that their followers would want to achieve so that they can be or look like them, this way becoming beautiful in the eyes of everyone. Unfortunately, a fact not known by a lot of people is that the majority of influencers edit their pictures to hide their imperfections, so the standard they are creating is fake and not realistic, and it can create mental health problems for the followers that can not afford to achieve it. Secondly, the beauty standards created by the society are more and more demanding, and every little imperfection can cause a normal individual to not feel good about themselves. The improvement of medicine and technology now allows people to remove their moles, create dimples, remove wrinkles, lose weight, create ‘hip-dips’ or create the so-called ‘fox eyes’, following every beauty trend that appears once in a while and achieving a perfect face or body, in the eyes of social media. In conclusion, i believe that the beauty standards implied by influencers and social media are unhealthy for people, and that they should resort to cosmetology surgery only if they truly feel that the change they are going to do will make them truly happy.