In many countries,people are now living longer than ever before.Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments.Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned that people ’s life is longer than before, while others consider this a positive phenomenon. From my perspective, an ageing population does more harm than good. I recognize that people living longer can have some advantages. Specifically, the elderly often possess traditional skills, which are symbols of traditional culture. If older people pass away at a young age, the youth may lose the opportunity to learn these skills or methods from them. For instance, many traditional African living devices and skills are being lost nowadays because the locals die at a young age, and young residents such as children or teenagers have no chance to learn. However, it is true that the potential by-products of this phenomenon are adverse impacts on the public, and they overtake the benefits. This is because an ageing population signifies a reduction in the social labor force, which is a necessary part of our society. For example, in some countries, there are more and more elderly residents, as a result, their countries’ productive forces are declining. The loss of productive force may cause a financial crisis or other difficulties. Moreover, an ageing population could put significant pressure on governments, such as addressing health and policy problems. It is obvious that most elderly individuals’ physical conditions are worse than those of younger people. To solve this problem, the government has to spend more money on health facilities, resulting in less investment in other aspects that are crucial for a country’s development. In conclusion, every coin has two sides, and so does the ageing population. Nevertheless, the advantages are relatively minor compared to the multiple disadvantages. Thus, I believe that an ageing population brings more cons than pros.