Many people use social media every day to get in touch with others and news events. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the contemporary era, people tend to maintain relations with their friends and acquaint themselves with the news through socializing platforms available over the internet. I think its advantages are far more appealing than the disadvantages that will be examined further in this essay. To begin with, social media is much more interactive than print media or any other communication sources of the past decades. At first, these are convenient and speedy ways through which information can be analyzed and news can be heard. As compared to present, the media was slower in the past and only provided news on the next day of the incident which reduces the urgency of the issue. However, these days news are spread so quickly on the internet that it demonstrates the urgency and even people take necessary actions to avoid future consequences of any negative news. For instance, nowadays, during the epidemic of corona virus, people were provided with safety measures to prevent the spread which was not possible during bygone eras of print media. Apart from this, the different social networking apps are crucial tools to coordinate with people at work. For instance, gmail helps to convey the messages to different people at work or even the personal messages which are quicker than mails or postal letters. On the contrary, some of the disadvantages could affect the overall positive impact of these platforms. One such shortcoming is spread of negative news at a speedy way which can result in numerous bad effects in the society. To illustrate it, the news of discrimination with a black man turned into riots and the spread of information too fast became problematic to the general public. Consequently, in some cases, it can face criticism from some sections of society also. To conclude, the positive prospects of the social media use will continue in the future. The numerous upsides of quick access to knowledge at just one click bring about faith in technology. Although, it fails to adhere to such results in some situations. In a nutshell, the positive aspects outweighs the drawbacks of the socializing platforms.