Today more and more people are overweight than before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this. What are main affects of this epidemic.

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the number of individuals suffering from obesity. This essay will first explore the main reasons for the climbing proportion of fat people and then present the adverse impacts of this phenomenon. Firstly, the significant reason for increased obesity is the increased work time. Working from eight to five usually at the computer desk coupled with the standard amount of 8 hours for sleeping, leaves less time for other activities as well as exercising, resulting in a lack of adequate physical activities. Secondly, increased fast food consumption is the other contributor to fatness. In modern life, the shortage of time for cooking on the one hand and the affordability of fast food such as hamburgers or fried chicken which are high in fat and salt on the other hand has persuaded many people to substitute them for healthy homemade meals, contributing to increased obesity in society. Not addressing the causes of this issue would lead to financial and health difficulties. Significantly, the epidemic of this issue has decreased the age of affliction to diverse illnesses to younger ages. Ailments such as hypertension, diabetes, high cholesterol and heart attacks used to be prevalent among elders; While these challenges, nowadays, are costing many youngsters their lives. According to statistics from the World Health Organization, the amount of LDL in the blood of 4 of 10 people under the age of 30 is more than the norm of 300mg/dl, highlighting the correlation between obesity and health. Furthermore, these ailments impose financial burdens on governments because they have to allocate considerable budget to curing these patients; While it could have been spent on improving healthcare or educational facilities. These difficulties, therefore, would diminish workers’ efficiency and subsequently, productivity in the long term. In conclusion, a lack of free time and an unhealthy diet could lead to different diseases and financial challenges for governments. Therefore, if governments aim to nurture productive and healthy people, addressing this problem should be the first priority.