It is irrefutable that learning mathematics in educational system has become a topic of debate among parents. While some parents think that teaching mathematics is unimportant, other parents believe that this subject is a fundamental part of education. This essay wil discuss both sides of this topic.

In contemporary society, the topic of mathematics in schools has become increasingly prominent. Moreover, some parents argue that maths is not important, whereas some believe it is a fundamental part of education. Thus, this essay will discuss the cognitive impact of mathematics, while also considering the educational obligation that schools have to accommodate all types of learners. Firstly, one paramount benefit is the unparalleled convenience it offers for various aspects of a child's cognitive development. For example, a study done at Harvard University found that mathematical concepts are found in everyday objects, and that the average person unknowingly uses mathematics about 80% a day when identifying objects or solving complex problems. Furthermore, mathematics is vital to advance technology and perform breakthrough inventions that can benefit the future. Thus, it is essential to acknowledge that maths plays a momentous role on someone's intellectual abilities and can be considered as a fundamental part of education. Secondly, all educational institutions have a moral standard to accommodate different students. To illustrate this, High School Sunrise do not include maths as part of their curriculum, because 65% of their students have a below average IQ. Given this, it is imperative that schools still enhance learning, even towards children who have intellectual disabilities. In addition to this, it is notable that mathematics is unimportant in cases like these, however, if a student has the cognitive skills to do maths, then it should be encouraged. Hence, maths is important in some cases, but there are exceptions where it is not important. In conclusion, it is my contention that schools should encourage mathematics where possible, but keep in mind that not all students have the cognitive skills to master the subject. If students are encouraged to develop according to their abilities, then a more balanced lifestyle might occur in the foreseeable future.