Too many historic buildings are in danger and destroyed in many countries. What are the main reasons? How to protect them?

Monuments of historic significance are damaged or even attacked in several countries. It is caused by a plethora of reasons. These can be protected by authorities and general public by following various means. To begin with, historic sites exhibit remains of the bygone eras. Thus, in some nations, political leaders or violent organizations try to demolish such places to reduce their importance. These places belong to those leaders who follow a different political ideology and they do not want that the public should be reminded of their legacies. Apparently, these situations happen in non-democratic countries. For instance, in the country of Syria, numerous buildings were attacked by terrorists that demonstrate other religious beliefs or those which symbolized pillars of the democracy. Coversely, these places should be protected using various techniques. Primarily, these monuments can be turned into a library for students. An educational authority can take responsibility of that place to maintain it and to preserve it for future generations. For instance, government can make an university near to that monument to increase curiosity of students to visit it and also to read books that are related to history of that site. Consequently, students will be encouraged to take interest in it and they will work to progress in that direction. In conclusion, historic architecture acts as site of cultural heritage depiction and developments done by ancestors. So, these should be saved from rule of tyrrany who wants to destroy them. These buildings have to be converted into libraries or museums to generate interest of students and masses.