News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

It is undeniable that news has significant impacts on society in various aspects, such as economics. People read news for different purposes depending on their interests. This essay will elaborate on the reason why news is so important to people, why bad news gains more attention compared to good news and lastly, why reporters should not focus only on good news. First, news informs people about what is happening in the world not only the good sides but also the bad sides. In addition, the updated information is necessary for some groups of people. For example, financial investors follow news reporters because they have to evaluate businesses or industries which they are investing. Second, bad news gains more attention from readers. This is the reason why so much news mostly focuses on the bad side. For instance, bad news related to celebrities always becomes a hot topic as soon as it is reported. People heavily criticise and comment on the information that they receive. Third, it would be not appropriate to focus only on good news. Actually, bad news is also beneficial for people to be aware of threats that may occur. To give a clear example, criminal news can remind people to ensure security around their houses. If they come across a suspected person, they will recognise and report the police immediately. To sum up, news is important for people because it explains the world’s situation. It is normal to see more bad news because it can attract more readers’ attention. Although the good news is more pleasure to read, bad news also has advantages since it increases people ’s crime awareness.