With a growing worls population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Overpopulation has been a debatable and ever-increasing issue worldwide leading to negative impacts through many fields, mainly famine and exponential growth in denutrition rate. Some scientists arise that Genetically Modified (GM) foods is the best solution to struggle against this situation, while many others argue that it will not solve the hunger that is suffered by millions of people. I partially agree with this statement, and in this essay I am explaing both points of view. To start with, genetically engineered food has been widely researched in order to improve not only quality but also speed of production and durability. For this reason, differents techniques such as DNA and RNA modifications has been proposed. For example, vegetables crops have been changed to avoid seeds inside them and to remaind remind as fresh as possible for many weeks. Besides, these modifications could prevent growing microorganisms in the goods. However, hunger is not only a problem related to quantities of food that are produced, but also is a social difficulty because some people do not have access to buy them. It is one of the main misfortune across third-world countries where people do not have enough resources to buy and distribution is inequal. For example, in Colombia, many people live under impoverished conditions in which their families cannot be fed due to lack of stipends. On the other hand, these techniques must be deeply studied because mutations and impacts in our genetic material are unknown. To sum up, there have been created cutting-edge techniques to deal with feeding obstacles. Nevertheless, many others factors should be evaluated because humanity have to face with social inequality, poverty and scarcity.