More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items from famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There has been much debate whether people should choose famous brands to buy clothes and other things. This new trend is a direct consequence of strong advertising campaigns from huge companies and influencers. In my opinion this tendency is bound to destroy smaller businesses and can bring more negative consequences than positive ones. First and foremost, big companies in order to make profits promote their shiny products through intense advertisements, with the help of various influencers, celebrities and famous sportsmen. This leads to more and more people choosing between sellers based on the ads they see on the internet or other social media platforms. in order to follow the new trends brought by celebrities. For example, the famous football player Ronaldo promotes sport shoes of famous brands, which, as a result, many of his followers will buy. This trend most definitely will have a negative impact on society and most importantly, small businesses that are desperately looking for new customers. This is because smaller brands are not able to allocate big budgets to advertisements and therefore are less known. Consequently, society will not be informed about the products these smaller companies sell and will not be able to buy them. As well as this, some people may feel unsatisfied with their lives, when they are not able to afford lavish products from famous brands. As a result, they may end up depressed or negatively impacted in other ways. For example, individuals could struggle with financial problems when they spend all of their budget on popular brands, which often cost a staggering amount of money. In conclusion, a lot of people buy from famous brands for many different reasons. However, I strongly believe that this is a negative development, because it can lead to bankruptcy of small businesses and issues with people ’s mental and financial state.