Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The significance of education has been highlighted over the past decades. From this aspect, questions about whether the main aim of school is to turn children into civilised citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals arise. In my opinion, the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers to some extent. Irrefutably, education improves national human resources. This is because children can learn various knowledge in subjects such as science, mathematics, and literature through education. This obviously leads to enhancing an interest in careers related to their favorite modules and this in turn allows them to have a wanted job in the future. What is more, although the influence of home education cannot be ignored, children experience several parts of society at school. To exemplify, they have to attend class on a daily basis, struggle with difficult subjects, and compete with classmates to gain high scores. This, therefore, brings about easy adaptation to real society. Nevertheless, school educations focus on the prime subjects. In other words, since children are forced to learn limited modules, they have low opportunities for minor subjects such as ethics, arts, and physical training, so they are less likely to enjoy valuable activities related to minor subjects. To conclude, school education focuses on the prime subjects but children can learn various knowledge in subjects such as science, mathematics, and literature through education and children experience several parts of society at school. Thus, the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers.