It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Having a gap year before higher education is being more common these days. The most significant benefits of this trend are the opportunity it gives to students for travelling and resting, while the drawbacks are the school adaptation process and the risk of wasting an entire year for nothing. People prefer to take a break of their education and not going to collage for a year. One advantage of this is to before diving in all the midterms and finals, students can go different locations and explore the life outside their future campus and make memories. This is because with the heavy curriculum and exams, humans usually do not have time to travel and postponing the hard times for a year can emerge an opportunity to discover the world. Another pro of a year -off is to finally have time to relax and rest after university entrance exams which cause burnout to nearly everyone. Many students face depression and develop severe anxiety during their last years in high school and by giving themselves a timeline to heal would be a great investment for their mental health. Women and men might find it difficult to get used to the lectures and being educated, this might be a drawback of after a year full of leisure activities. Being trained to meet higher education entrance qualifications after years creates a hard-to-break dicipline in those individuals and not attending cources or classes might make this trained will go away and therefore students may find it difficult to keep up with the heavy schedule of their licence program. Another disadvantage of having a spare 12 months is the risk of doing nothing in that time. Many plan to meet certain goals, work on several projects however majority of them end up not achieving any of them and this might happen to those who choose not to start their bachelors degree right after highschool. To conclude, although choosing not to attend to higher education for a 365 day period have certain pros such as having an opportunity to travel and improving psychology, re-adapting school and the risk of doing nothing during the period are its cons.