Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Countless of innocent lives have perished in third world countries every day. Common diseases that can be remedied are taking away lives due to the fact that these people are unable to afford drugs they require. In my essay, I will delve into why I believe that pharmaceutical companies should reduce their price tag for drugs being sold to poorer nations and provide my explanations for them. To begin, citizens of poor countries are dying at an alarming rate due to curable diseases. These common diseases, like flu, are curable by simple medication which is how people of richer countries are dealing with them on a day-to-day basis. The price of drugs makes even the most common disease seem like a death sentence. However, despite this sad plight, no action has been taken by these large multinational pharmaceutical companies to reduce the price of drugs that are being supplied to those poorer nations due to the fear of negative financial implications. For example, it is reported by Fox News that the American company of Pfizer has refused to reduce the price as they are concerned with their share prices at the stock market if their products are associated with cheap rates. Adding on, I believe, at the heart of a pharmaceutical corporation, helping people should be helm as an utmost priority above profits. By allowing their drug products to be sold cheaper, will help save many millions of lives. As a bonus, this action will most certainly help build their reputation status. For instance, in 2008, a pilot project led by Singaporean drug company, Reddot, sold their drugs at an incredible discount of 90%, into the poorer nations like Senegal and Tongo to aid them fight off their mosquito season which took away half a million lives in the previous year. This project, received applause from various governments across the globe, especially in the home country of Singapore, which injected one million dollars into the company as an amount to pledge support the project. In conclusion, I believe that lives are more important than profit margins for companies that are afraid of being labeled cheap. Reduced rates of selling drugs especially to those who really need them is vital in saving lives. Therefore, I encourage all drug companies across the world to step in and save lives, especially for those in poorer nations.