Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that it is true to create incentives for specific majors that are expected to be very hopeful. However, it is inappropriate only to allow subjects considered the most promising. As far as I am concerned, university students can learn whatever they want. There are several reasons why this is the case. First and foremost, it may appear that focusing only on particular fields in education is a wise choice. However, It is risky and fallacious to predict the future in advance. For instance, the number of people in these specialties may surpass the demand for them in the future. Although some may argue that societies could avoid market saturation through accessing market trends, the fact remains that the future is always hard to forecast. There is no guarantee the fields that experts believe will be the best are most likely to reach for the dream. Furthermore, we are naturally motivated to spend time and energy pursuing our interests. Thus, people study best when the subject is something which stimulates them naturally. On one hand, one of the biggest issues for STEM fields is insufficient people to fill the necessary positions on the grounds that only a certain proportion of people are talented or passionate about science. Therefore, those who study science with great reluctance are unlikely to become great scientists or achieve success in science. On the other hand, not all individuals base their lives on economic factors or job security. Some people will choose passions even if their careers are not the most helpful to society. In conclusion, college students should be free to study all the majors they like which can conform to their interests and promote employment.