Some people believe that global warming is today’s most pressing environmental problem. At the same time, some consider deforestation to have the most devastating impact on the world. Discuss both views and give your opinion on the same.

Global warming is often regarded as the most serious environmental issue, whilst others feel that deforestation has a more severe global impact. Deforestation, from my perspective, has a more immediate effect and should thus be addressed more urgently. First and foremost, among the most visible effects of global warming is the rise in the global average temperature. As temperatures rise, weather patterns are shifting, resulting in extreme weather. These extremes may come in a variety of flavors. Paradoxically, some regions can experience colder-than-normal winters as a consequence of climate change. According to recent research, hurricanes will grow more destructive on average as the planet warms. Most computer models predict that although hurricane frequency will remain roughly constant, those hurricanes will be able to deliver more thunderstorms and rainfalls due to a warmer atmosphere holding more moisture. Nevertheless, while the consequences of global warming are substantial, they are spaced out across decades as opposed to being as rapid as deforestation. Deforestation disrupts ecosystems that are essential to both humans and animals. Lush green woodlands are home to a variety of the world's most iconic wild creatures, from the tiger to the panda, as well as a plethora of other unique plant species. Unfortunately, habitat degradation caused by deforestation directly kills animals, driving hundreds of species to extinction every day. However, the significance of forests does not end there. Forests can also absorb excess atmospheric carbon dioxide emissions, functioning as a much-needed buffer against irreversible climate change. To conclude, while global warming produces extreme weather in the foreseeable future, I feel that the effects of deforestation seem more imminent and should be resolved more promptly.