Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduces the ammount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of technology, social messengers are now used to connect millions of people ranging from our neighborhood to citizen from the other side of the world. Some people argue that these new forms of communication bring people closer, while others think they pull people apart as people nowadays rarely meet each other in person. In my opinion, I disagree that social platforms cause a lack of people's social lives. Firstly, the social messengers only serve as one of the options for communicating. In the past it was very difficult for people to talk to each other, especially if there is something urgent came up, because they needed to arrange a meeting everytime they want to meet up. However, nowadays, people can choose on whether the discussion is worth a face-to-face meeting or just a video conference through online platform such as Zoom or Google Meet suffices. Thus, I believe modern messengers will not replace face-to-face meetings but only serve as one of options of communication. In addition, social messengers are also helpful in maintaining boundaries between friends as when someone receives an online message he/she can take as much time as they want to reply to such a message. In contary, offline meetings often drain someone's energy and a lot of people feel exhausted after completing even only one meeting. Thus, I believe modern messengers will not jeopardize one's social lives. In conclusion, I disagree that emails, texts and other modern communication platforms bring harm to one's direct interaction with other people because they provide additional option of communication as well as give boundaries for people.