It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many primary schools start to plan to add "learning how to grow vegetables and keep animals "as a course. So the society also start to make a comparison between its advantages and disadvantages. It is definitely clear that this kind of course is included in labour education. Children can develop the recognition of nature in a more simple way, and encourage their interest in natural science. Keeping these life also can establish correct values, which will continuously increase the kindness with those children. Moreover, those activities can replace mobile phones to bring the the happiness in their childhood. Animals like cats and dogs, vegetables like tomatoes and green vegetables, those all need a long time to develop relationship or grow it up. After taking a long time to take care of them, the society can see the change of a lot more patience and warm-heart of kids. However, if we focus on children's study, we'll see disadvantages. Keeping a life at home means the energy that was used for learning has switched to taking care of those small cute ones. With much less time spending on studying, the scores kids get may be lower, which may harms their chance to enter a better school in the future. Meanwhile, it is meaningless to some parents to have such a cost from a creature that "isn't a human ". They may feel more stressful after getting another life to home. At last but not least, many parents will think it is also meaningless to have labour education, because they need academic achievement instead of growing "a small thing" successfully. Therefore, it is really difficult to decide whether children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. It seems that the advantages is a lot more than disadvantages, but the base condition of that happens is the family has enough money to support those activities. For poor or mentally backward ones, it is sad but true that those "labour education " is certainly a kind of meaningless thing to do. They just focus on how great is the academic achievements their children get. The gap between rich and poor can seriously prevent the society to analysis the situation. The conclusion is clear: for those who have enough money and a modern mind, keeping a life can improve their children's quality education; for those that in opposite conditions, it is absolutely a really stressful burden. If we just focus on the full development of kids, those small activities can also be very important ones. It is truly a great thing in theory, but the real world can't give up the realistic problem.