In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The issue of student's living place while tertiary education has sparked a heated debate among many. It is widely argued that some students prefer to live with their families, while others consider to move to another place. I am firmly of the belief that the key element of independence is separating from place where you originally from and, as for me, we need to do it as soon as possible. Firstly, it is undeniable that students from other countries most likely live in the dormitories or rent an apartment. Both cases mean taking more responsibilities for life. I used to live in a dormitory when I was a student and I was suprised by the amount of things that you have to do. For example, paying electric bills, prepare food regularly and get along with variety of people. While living with your families, your parents take care of tremendous part of an adult's life, in that case, you hardly familiar with these types of problems. Secondly, every family has a package of rules that you must follow. These rules might hide your own potential and wishes. When I was living with my parents, I was forbidden to go outside until I finished the homework and it was the main reason why I did not get enough friends. However, there are a few disadvantages of living away from home. The main discomfort lay on emotional and metal level. You can obtain love and support from family and being on the distance may hurt your feelings. Overall, I assume that the advantages of living at the distance from family outweigh the negative sides.