In some countries, older people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other old people rather than live with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that in some countries, the elderly prefer to live in retirement communities rather than live with their kids. I believe that this trend contributes to positive development. On the one hand, living in retirement communities enables the elderly to have their own social circle. The elderly resonate more with each other than their kids. They can discuss singers or fashion that belong to their generation. By contrast, If the elderly live with children, the distance between them may increase because children have their own social circles and lack the time to accompany them. As a result, the elderly prefer to live in retirement communities with peers accompany each other. Moreover, living in retirement communities helps the elderly to receive convenient medical services at anytime. This is because there usually are professional medical services provided in thus communities. If they live with their kids, children may need to take off to take the elderly to hospital, which also requires advance booking. This is really inconvenient to their children and the elderly. On the other hand, living in retirement communities cause the elderly out of touch with society. For example, they can pay cash if they don’t know how to use electronic payment. However, this makes it difficult and inconvenient for the elderly in outside these communities, In this generation, some stores or public transportation only receive electronic payment. They would gradually become unable to leave the retirement communities. But if they live with their children, who can teach them how to use new technology such as, computers and cell phones. This not only helps them keep independence but also remains the ability to adapt society. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible drawbacks of living in retirement communities, I consider it to be a positive development overall.