Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Space is an uncharted territory. It is a vast and ever-expanding area which we know so little about, yet we know that it is a frontier that we must push. The importance of seeking for answers of how the much speculated big bang began might help to answer this long unanswered question. It takes an astronomical amount of funding in order to run each space mission. As such, people felt that the money could be better utilised in other areas which actually benefit the country than wasting money on space exploration. In this essay, I will delve into both agree and disagree and provide reasons why I feel a balance of these two proposals is important for the people and also the human race. To begin, space missions are pivotal in helping us, as a race, to understand what is happening in our immediate surroundings namely the solar system and other planetary objects. These provide updates on our neighbouring stars and if any threatening stray asteroids come flying our way, counter-measures could be implemented to avoid the complete wipeout of a species for example the dinosaur species. Also, by studying the other stars, we are hoping to learn from them and help resolve our longstanding global warming phenomenon. For instance, we were able to apply counter-action to a stray meteor in 2005 when it was flying a collision course towards Earth thanks to the telescope onboard the International Space Station for early detection. Other the other hand, despite the huge amount of money being injected into the space program annually, what we are actually tangibly reaping from it is very little as it is not impactful enough for the immediate future. For example, recently the National Space Administration finally made a public announcement that they have a clear photo of the planet Pluto and what the environment is like on this star but how does this help the people of today? Many debates have been sparked with regards to how much the image actually costs the normal citizen and whether these funds could be redirected to, say helping to relocate the homeless people living on the streets. For example, when the Department of Defence cut its funding in 2002, the money was reallocated to help build more houses for the elderly which were more beneficial for the country. To end, I felt that it is important to strike a balance between the two. As such, I agree that cutting the funding and giving it to an area which needs it most will be the best of both worlds although I also agree that the exploration of our surroundings in space is critical for our future offspring as well.