Some people say that a lot of scientific research done today is a waste of time and money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that humans are wasting their time and money for scientific studies. I partly disagree with this view as there are still some breakthroughs that even later generations can not exist without them. Undeniably, given the advances in science and technology, today's world has differed a lot as it used to be in the 1900s. However, there is a fact that modern scientists so far have not created any innovations that can be compared with their predecessor’s, such as Thomas Edision with the advent of electricity. Truthfully said, no matter how fruitless these contemporary researches are, researchers still dedicate themselves to them. This can be exemplified by some self-proclaimed ones, who seek for recognition, are inventing impractical products, namely the tissue hats for sneezing or 90-degrees glasses for reading books or watching TV on the bed. Having said that, the science industry has made remarkable progress in unraveling the surrounding mysteries, thereby enlarging the human’s understanding. To be more specific, Newton’s Law of Universal Gravitation plays a vital role in making any planets in the solar system rotate around the sun, as well as manipulating the motion of smaller meteors. This indeed lays the foundation of today's astronomy, as every planet has its own orbits. Moreover, new scientific discoveries truly facilitate people’s lives in many ways. Over the past few centuries, several inventions have immensely contributed to uplifting human society. Without science, there is no chance to find treatments for fatal diseases like plague or cancer, not to mention access to the Internet. As a prime example for the case, modern approaches to suppress the spread of HIV are actualized thanks to scientists' dedicated studies. In conclusion, although there is a fact that today's research is useless and nothing less than wasting large amounts of time and money, the devotion to creating breakthroughs of scientists cannot be denied.