Government should put taxes on unhealthy food so that people eat healthy foods more. Do you agree or disagree?

Imposing taxes on junk food is one of the solutions that the government has mandated in order to encourage people to consume more healthy food. Although many people might disagree with this phenomenon, I firmly believe that this is an effective way to promote a healthy lifestyle. This essay will discuss why I agree with the above statement. Firstly, putting taxes on sugary food is an effective way to control the consumers' eating habits. In the UK, it is noticeable that this law has been already implemented and people are thinking twice before picking up a regular coke in the shops because of the additional tax on the price tag. Consequently, sugar is one of the culprits why more people nowadays suffer from different types of illnesses such as diabetes. The number of people that are being diagnosed with pre-diabetes and diabetes is increasing each year, and even people at an early age now are diagnosed with this problem. Moreover, an additional amount on the price tag of unhealthy food will encourage people to prepare their own meals at home. This way, it can be guaranteed that what people are consuming is clean and no preservatives are added to their meals. This also give people the opportunity to be more economical. Preparing home-cooked meals is much cheaper rather than earing out and paying additional tax on certain food items. In conclusion, adding taxes on unhealthy food is an effective way for the government to promote a healthy lifestyle for it's constituents.