Some people say advertising has positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because it will make people dissatisfed with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether advertising is non-beneficial to societies and economies is very topical today, as it could considered to be persuasive. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is true that consumers may lose money from misleading of advertisements, as they contain false information which firms intentionally do so. For example, the wide promotion of healthcare products attracts consumers who have information barriers to consuming a large number of products. Furthermore, the collaboration of the whole society may be significantly reduced, discouraging the development of society and economies, because consumers might not trust producers anymore and reduce the amount of transactions in the market. Finally, there are possibilities that advertising does not fully work, meaning no money is generated for producers, which is a waste of resources for all concerned. On the other hand, the supporters who believe advertising would help society and the economy become a better state where consumers could gain better products. Higher profits allow producers to reinvest in developing more advanced products by increasing their technologies or infrastructures. Another counter-argument is that, with some merit, unemployment may be reduced by revenue of firms increased. The need to increase the supply of products relies on enough labour force employed, meaning firms may hire more workers to complete orders in time. Then a last point, the government could supervise the producers, making sure they guarantee the quality of the products, which would improve the role of government in a radical way for the whole society. Overall, it appears to me that a stronger argument is in favour of advertising benefits society and economics, with advantages of increasing employment, and better products, emphasizing the role of governments.