Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivataion for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both thee view and give your opinion.

A group of individuals thinks that there should be fixed law to penalize someone for any crime while others believe that punishment should be subjective. I believe that the punishment should be based on individual circumstances and the law should be only deciding some guidelines on which judge should make a decision. To begin with, if someone commits a crime then a fixed punishment should be decided on which a judge delivers. The rules of criminal justice law advise a judge to make judgements based on the law. For instance, for a burglary offence in the bank could result in 10 to 20 years of jail time that is different from small crimes such as shoplifting which may be just 6 months. So, the punishment is based on the severity of a crime. It will help people to decide on crimes according to law only. A judge cannot make decison decision based on his personal opinions. On the contrary, the judge has to decide based on individual offense. For example, if someone is mentally ill and commits crime then he needs to first go to a psychiatrist and need to be offered a chance to make his health better and provided a second chance. Similarly, some destitute people do robberies when they have nothing to eat. Thus, this will make law system more empathetic then now. To conclude, this should always be noted why a certain type of crime is commited and what are the conditions of the criminal. Ergo, it makes law system which let criminals a second chance to improve themselves. But, in other cases the law should only decide what punishment has to be decided in a certain case, otherwise a judge could make some mistakes if he gets emotional in some cases which could be detrimental for public safety. From my perspective, punishment should be based on types of crimes and situation of a criminal.