Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are continual arguments between children who should learn foreign language at primary school and children who should learn a different language at secondary school. This essay will find advantages and disadvantages of those two viewpoints and draw a conclusion at the end. To begin with, one of the main advantages of starting to learn a foreign language at primary school is that younger children are generally more receptive to new languages and can pick them up more easily. Their minds are still developing, making it easier for them to grasp the rules and structures of a new language. By learning a new language, children are able to better understand and communicate with people from different backgrounds and cultures. This can help to foster a sense of empathy and understanding towards others, as well as open up opportunities for future travel and career prospects. On the other hand, studying foreign language at secondary school has a lot of advantages. Most middle school students have a more developed language than elementary school students, so their pronunciation will be very good when talking to people in the country. In addition,they are good at memorizing things, therefore,when they learning a new language, they learn new words and grammar well, and thus they can learn the language well. In conclusion, while there are both advantages to starting to learn a foreign language at primary school and secondary school, learning an overseas language may ultimately outweigh the benefits of learning a different language at secondary school.