It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo...) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the extinction of wild animals is a natural phenomenon. The action of preventing it is pointless. I personally disagree with this view for several reasons. Firstly, it is true that the loss of large numbers of animals is the law of nature, however, humans are the main factor that causes this phenomenon. According to urbanization and industrialization, many forests had been cut off to make room for infrastructure such as building complexes, factories and amenities. Moreover, people are earning economic benefits from harvesting and selling timber. Hunting for horns, for instance, rhinos were extinct in various countries such as Vietnam and Africa due to the over-poaching of local people. These actions not only lead to deforestation which costs wild animals their living habitats, but also food source depletion or even death of many forest's inhabitants. Added to this is the fact that preventing animals from being extinct is critical to our biodiversity which is why people have to prevent this from happening. Diverse plant and animal communities can help sequester carbon and retain soil, helping to mitigate the effects of climate change. The loss of animal species could disrupt our ecosystem’s balance which causes the lack of diversity. Since all organism species are living interrelated to each other, the disappearance of one species can directly affect others. For example, predatory animals such as tigers and lions depend on zebras or deer to live. Once these animals become extinct, predators will die due to the lack of food sources. To preserve wild animals, humans can provide a home for some animals at the edge of extinction such as zoos or animal sanctuaries. In conclusion, it is important for people to save animals ' lives since we are the cause of extinction in these habitats. This not only balances biodiversity but also helps humans to avoid tremendous consequences of climate changes in the future.