There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Young individuals are persuaded to perform better in academic work in today's context, part of society commonly believes that academically non-related areas such as physical education and cookery should be removed from the school curriculum to accommodate and prioritise academic work.In my opinion, this leads to an unhealthy young generation with a lack of practical skills to strive in society. Thus, this writer wholeheartedly disagrees with the captioned statement. First and foremost, a lack of skills and knowledge in physical education prone the individual with less interest in exercises and less physical activity. Lack of exercise leads the individual into obesity and more prone to non-communicable diseases, who ends up as an unhealthy individual. For instance, according to research done by the University of Peradeniya 8 years ago, more than 20% of school children under age 12 had type 2 Diabetes mellitus, and they pointed out the fact, that children who had the disease did not participate in any sports activities in the school, and this key research led the Sri Lankan authorities to make physical education as a compulsory subject to ordinary level students in Sri Lanka. Hence physical education at a young age is very important. Furthermore, subjects like cookery can cultivate life skills and career opportunities for youngsters. In the modern contemporary era, education should focus on the independence of the student, while vocational subjects help in doing so. Other than that, it can create future pathways for job opportunities in the cookery industry, for those who are not interested in academic careers. For instance, the famous chef Pabilis Silva once told in a TV interview that he understood his passion for cooking from his school cookery teacher. Thus, vocational subjects have a huge impact on one life. In conclusion, theoretical and academic learning is important for the young generation, but subjects like physical education and cookery help to have better health in adult life while having good social and career skills to strive better in society. Hence, this writer has a strong notion that non-academic subjects should be taught at the school.