It will be better to have wide use of driverless cars for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

With the technological progress, driverless cars, which existed in science fiction only before, are currently being developed. Some people think that it will bring a range of benefits if this technology can be widely used. I agree with them, and I will demonstrate my opinions in this article. Individuals can benefit from automated vehicles in several ways. For example, road accidents, which are usually caused by humans, will be reduced since an accurate auto-driving computer system can rarely make mistakes. If driverless cars are the norm, people can go everywhere safely. Also, disabled people’s living will be more convenient because instead of spending much time waiting for publicly accessible transport, they can go anywhere by car that doesn’t require manual control. Society, too, has much gain. Vehicular accidents affect not only drivers and passengers but also the surrounding infrastructure. This leads to extravagant waste of public funds in repairs and hinders people’s daily travelling. If self-driving automobiles that have well-programmed avoidance systems become widespread, the number of traffic congestions will be remarkably reduced, thus decreasing the money cost of infrastructure reconstruction. Nonetheless, I also agree that others hold the opposite view that these autos are still not error-free. However, this technology is still in the development process, and it will have been thoroughly tested before it officially comes into use. I believe that the advantages would outweigh the drawbacks when the use of driverless vehicles is widespread. In conclusion, driverless cars should be used widely once they are available in the market as they will not only contribute to human welfare but also decrease the loss of social economy.