Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are some arguments about the conservation of old buildings. While some people believe that it is worth preserving constructions with maintenance rather than demolishing them and building new ones, other people do not believe so. Although I think there are some cases where buildings should be built newly, I agree with the idea that it is essential to maintain them. There are some reasons to support the idea that the old constructions should be kept as much as possible. This is because old buildings express the importance of history in the local area for a long time. Even if buildings cannot be used in the same ways, there is room for other potential usage. For example, in Melbourne, there are a lot of historical buildings, such as churches, being used in the present era as well while changing the purpose of use. While some churches existed for Christians in the past, these were renovated into campuses of universities, such as RMIT, Melbourne University and Sydney University keeping their constructions. Additionally, the towns attractive people to existing the historical buildings and tourists have opportunities to know the history through the constructions. However, buildings can deteriorate with spending time and it is hard to maintain. If regulations relative to durability were changed to prevent accidents from earthquakes, it would be difficult to meet the conditions for old buildings. As a result, the old buildings can be dangerous for people. In conclusion, it is crucial to keep old buildings in terms of history, culture or habit. However, there is a risk of being bad things for people if an earthquake happens.