An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping on line.

Nowadays, large number of people are relying on online market for shopping purposes. Online market places reduce the cost of maintaining physical stores and staff for the companies, and at the same time, they eliminates the effort of going to the store for the buyer. Conversely, buying product online levies an overhead of return system on the seller and the consumer also has trust issues regarding the quality of the product. In this essay, merits and demerits of this particular habit will be discussed. Online shopping provides the facility to return products if the consumer doesn' t like anything, this often generates a reverse supply chain for the seller and the returned products are of no use to the seller, hence they costs extra money for the company. On the other hand, for the user as well returning products is an additional hassle. They don' t have the option to check the quality of the products as they have while doing shopping in physical store. So, if they don' t like their ordered item, they have to book a return and go through that process. In today's era. companies are resorting to online markets because they reduce their costs such as labour remunerations, property cost, etc. For example, there are various brands which sell their products only online and because of that they don' t have to pay to any salesperson or any rent for the store and electricity bills, so it reduces their expenditure a lot. For the customers as well, they get the benefit of shopping according to their time as they don' t have to travel anywhere to buy a certain thing. For example, people sitting in Mumbai can easily buy from shops located in Delhi through online mode. In a nutshell, this is a never ending debate as it depends on people's comfort what they want to choose. In my opinion online shopping is beneficial for both consumers and sellers.