Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it’s quite common to live in a country that uses a foreign language. Some argue that this can create some significant social and practical issues. I completely agree with this statement, and in this essay I will discuss the reasons for this and provide examples from my perspective. There are several issues that might be connected to this issue. First and foremost, a person living in a country that uses a foreign language might need time to adapt by listening and speaking in that language. If the people were not able to adapt, they would have a hard time doing their activities, including work or studying. For instance, I went to Japan to vacation the other day, and I’m really having a hard time using the Japanese language since I didn’t prepare it before. Furthermore, because most Japanese people can’t speak English either, I need to use Google Translate whenever I try to communicate with them. Furthermore, the social issues that occurred are related to the feeling of loneliness and isolation from society. By not being able to utilize the used language, the individuals could not be able to socialize normally, leading to a lack of social engagement. Consequently, the individuals might become stressed or depressed. In conclusion, I fully agree that living in a nation where you have to utilize certain foreign languages would cause social and practical problems. However, we can mitigate that by learning and adapting that specific foreign language. Consequently, we would be living comfortably quicker and easier.