Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the advent of technological improvements, most children have been inclined to allocate most of their time on their mobile phones. A lack of social skills is the major reason behind this prevalence. I believe that this is a negative development because spending hours on screen can adversely impact children’s physical health. There are many juveniles around the world who suffer from developing social skills, and, therefore, they might find more effective and easier to give the preference to use their phones instead of being sociable. For example, when children who are obsessed with their voices and appearance encounter difficulties to find friends outside, they tend to prefer creating friendships in the Internet because online acquaintances do not demand communication abilities and revealing their appearance. In addition, finding foreigner friends is also accessible online, and it may give juveniles more chances in order to avoid being alone and unsociable. I consider this trend as a negative development because allocating several hours to the smartphones exerts some adverse effects on the minors’ well-being. First of all, watching screens for a long time are highly likely to damage children’s eye. The particular research in the UK proves that most of the various visual problems in the patients stem from electronical devices such as phones and computers apart from natural factors. In conclusion, higher possibility for the minors to create strong friendships in the Internet are the main cause that underlying this tendency. However, I think that this can contribute to the negative consequences in terms of their health.