In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is conflicting argument whether senior citizens bring problems for governments. In my opinion, the advantages outweight the disadvantages because they have a crucial role in maintaining and diseminating cultural values and become independent people. The increasing number of elderly people in certain country are more likely to decrease national income duo to the fact that the government should alocate locate their budget for their living. In Nordic countries, such as Findland and Sweden, that well-known as welfare state countries, government spent more budget for their senior citizens. Although this policy bring them to be one of the most happiness countries of the world and the most convinience convenience places for aged population, it also lead to financial problem for the government. Furthermore, the fact that elderly citizens are unproductive, compared to young people, it is clear that their existance bring more disadvantages than advantages. Those on the other side of the argument say that senior citizens have a pivotal role for society, particularly in maintaining traditional values. In many developing countries in Asia, such as Indonesia and India, senior citizens have a significant role in maintaining cultural values and preaching these norms to younger citizens. They tend to be cultural broker between traditional norms that rooted from their ancestor and modern world where young population have to fight to this phenomenon. Additionally, it is important to note that they tend to be independent people who do not depent repent their live from state's budget or financial support from their sons and daughters. Therefore, it is clear that the advantages of senior citizens outweight outweighs the disadvantages. In conclusion, the number of senior citizens are not a problem for government since they play an important part of culural values and more likely to become independent citizens. Therefore, the advantages outweight the disadvantages.