New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With the evolution of new technologies in the play arena, the current generation of children prefers to indulge themselves in the latest gaming devices and spend a majority of their spare time gazing at a variety of screens that eventually keep them entertained. I, however, find this rising trend fairly dysfunctional and believe its demerits outweigh the merits to a fair extent. To begin with, the new play devices such as video games have resulted in a highly increasing issue of eye fatigue and poor eye sight owing to the increased screen time. Secondly, this trend keeps children indoors throughout the day leading to minimal or no physical engagement. Ultimately, their limited social interactions with other children of their age and reduced exposure to the real-life instances result in restricted overall development of the minds and bodies of these children. On the other hand, these new innovations have proven helpful in keeping the children engaged thereby making the parents' lives easier considerably. These have been highly encouraged in the career-oriented society where parents have very limited time to play with their babies. But, on the contrary, the increasing involvement of these youngsters in virtual entertainment platforms has raised a big question on the emotional bonding of parents with their little ones. To conclude, I strongly believe that it's high time to keep a check on the time kids spend on the technology. This will not only ensure their physical health but also overall growth of their well-being.