It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There has been much debate whether taking a year off after graduating is a good choice for young people or whether they should start studying at their chosen university. In this essay I will present both benefits as well as drawbacks and express my opinion in regard to this topic. To begin with, every year more and more graduates are considering the choice to take a gap year. This is due to the fact that the world is becoming increasingly accessible to younger people and many of the students want to take advantage of this by traveling or just relaxing for a year in order to get more experience for their future jobs or simply travel and visit another country. Some students see this year as an opportunity to earn money for their studies. For example, in order to avoid taking a loan from a bank or asking parents to fund their studies some decide to take this chance to gain financial independence. Furthermore, during their time at the workplace youngsters gain valuable hands-on experience and enhance their skills such as communication, problem solving and critical thinking. As a result, these qualities will make them more desirable in the labor market. However, there is a risk of losing interest in studying, which can lead to wasting time and ending up jobless. This further may lead to mental health issues such as depression, frustration and anxiety. For this reason, many people choose to go the more traditional and conventional way of studying at a university. To sum up, there are both pros and cons of having a year off after highschool. Personally, I see more negative aspects of taking a gap year. This is because university provides many opportunities for students to achieve more, which one will miss taking a year off.