It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Decision-making is an important part of human nature, whether it is in one’s personal life or professional career, which can be regarded as a form of gambling that could lead to both positive and negative implications. Thus, this essay will focus on both sides of taking risks and contend that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. Primarily, one of the main advantages that folks achieve from venturing is success in their personal lives. Gambling can be of many sorts, and one way is by making a calculated attempt at investing in a profitable scheme. For example, someone who had invested a few dollars in Bitcoin when it was introduced would have been risking his money without knowing the implications, although now that same investment would be worth millions, thus implicating the benefits on a personal aspect. Additionally, people make calculated attempts to challenge the status quo in order to gain growth in their careers. It is true to human psychology for people to feel safe and comfortable, and be content with what they have. Yet, those who aspire to go beyond their comfort zone have on many occasions reaped its benefits. For instance, people who have changed their career paths to follow their dreams, such as Mark Zuckerberg, who decided to drop out of Harvard in pursuit of becoming an entrepreneur, who founded Facebook which has helped him become a billionaire. Thus, such drastic changes to one’s status quo can lead to better outcomes in life. Despite having various gains in individuals taking such ventures, there are certain drawbacks as well. Taking chances can in some instances result in anxiety, stress, and also physical harm. As such, a person who had invested all of his life savings in stocks of a company could lose all the money if the organization calls for bankruptcy leading to the person into a very unfortunate and unpleasant situation. As such not all ventures become success stories. In conclusion, though taking risks has both positive and negative outcomes, the advantages of making a calculated attempt would far outweigh the setbacks it would cause. Thus, there are more chances for one to achieve favourable implications personally and professionally if the risks are well planned.