Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The atmospheric pollution is a major topic of concern in the context of globalization. Some people argue that car-free days should be encouraged globally as an effective method of lessening air pollution. Although this is undeniably true, air degradation can be minimized more successfully by other methods. On the one hand, the organization of car-free days has appealed a plenty of advocates due to its temporary feasibility, contributing significantly to the ubiquity of public transport and physical activities such as walking or cycling just in a short period. As a result, this solution might enhance people's awareness of alleviating environmental issues and reducing the momentary amount of traffic emissions. However, the idea of car-free days is considered a one-sided strategy since it does not minimize the other exhaust fumes being released from the industrial factories which poses a serious threat to air contamination. Furthermore, the benefits of this method are typically short-term because they are not implemented regularly, so the reduction of emissions is not enough to make changes in pollution levels. On the other hand, I suppose that there are more multifaceted solutions to tackle this problem. The first possible way is the promotion of green transportation. Offering environmentally friendly public modes of transport such as electric buses, trams, subways, etc can help to limit personal vehicles in rush hours and it has a positive impact on minimizing traffic congestion rather than car-free days. For example, many countries like Japan, Korea,... have subway networks for commuters to move to their workplace or other areas, resulting in clean air quality and less car dependency. This will ultimately lead to lessening fossil fuel usage and improving the ecosystem. To sum up, I contend that the international car-free days may have little result in the atmospheric problem. However, other solutions, namely promoting public transport and using green energy, are worth more concern