Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (OPINION ESSAY)

Majority of countries resort to prison as the solution to combat crime but some argued that education to the public is a better measure. I completely disagree with the argument because certain criminal offense is so severe that stricter punishment than education should be imposed and awareness regarding crime will not prevent people from doing bad things. Some criminal act is so severe that educational measure is not enough to punish the wrongdoer. In certain case, prison is the only solution to give closure the victims and, or family members and to prevent harm to another member of society. For example, in murder case, justice is not properly served to the victim's family if the murderer is let loose and only being given educational talk on why harming people and ending people's life is a not a good deed. Furthermore, many people do bad things because they choose to do it and not because they don't know it is wrong. Increasing awareness on consequences of doing crime will not have any effect on organised criminal groups because they have the exact intention on doing the crime and how to go around the law. For instance, drug trafficker usually has a very organised system on how to distribute their goods without being noticed by the police and they consciuosly doing it on purpose, hence, education will not bring them to the good side. In conlusions conclusions, some might argue that sending criminals to prison is not the only solution and suggesting doing educational exposure, I strongly disagree with the suggestion because some crimes are too big to only being given educational talk and majority of criminal already aware of consequences of doing crime and choose to involve in the act.