Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had huge negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

In the digital society, there is a constant argument about social media's influence on people's minds and lives. Many contend that it is negative. This essay totally disagrees with that statement because they have brought platforms for connection, and communication, fostering global communities and enabling instant sharing of information. To begin with, social media services have changed the way individuals communicate with each other, and businesses communicate with their customers and other businesses in a good way. Many were able to start their own line of work and develop their own brand, become closer to their customers and get feedback almost immediately without an enormous budget and being able to view, control and take part in the process from the beginning. For example, Haley Bieber and her cosmetic brand "Rhode '' is being advertised by herself in her Instagram account the way she likes it. Hence, if used wisely, social media platforms will definitely benefit business ventures. Moreover, such platforms as YouTube,and X(formerly Twitter) allow independent journalists and witnesses to the events to publish their materials. This is especially important in countries which do not have independent mass media but have strong censorship of public and political events and violate freedom of speech. For example, in Russia or Iran, social networks are the only safe way to talk to the audience against dictatorships in these countries. Besides, it happens that very often people get to know about events and might be warned through social media sooner than via traditional media like television or radio. For instance, people received the news and warning about the terrorist attack in Domodedovo airport in 2004 from Twitter first, hence, they could react to it sooner while state television reported about it several hours later. To conclude, social networks have changed the society completely. It has brought a lot of positives, empowering individuals and businesses to build their image and fields of work, and making news spread faster.