Many people around the world use social media everyday to keep in touch with other people and get new events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, the use of social networking for information exchange between people and access to news is becoming more popular. While this trend helps people keep in touch with long-distance relationships and quickly get information, I believe the risk of receiving misinformation and the inability to have face-to-face conversations outweigh the benefits. It can not be denied that social media helps people easily connect with people on the other side of the world. Examples are Twitter or Facebook where everybody can keep track of others' lives by interacting in posts and chatting online. As a result, people can still connect far relationships without frequent direct meetings. Moreover, social networking also allws users to access information quickly. Owing to the freedom of speech, everyone can post anything they want with no censorship. This enables information to be disseminated much faster than traditional news outlets such as state-run broadcasts, thus giving citizens more time to react to an emergency situation like earthquakes. However, the proliferation of self-posted news can contribute to an increasing amount of misinformation since most of them are unverified. Take COVID-19 as an example, many Vietnamese during this time posted sensational yet groundless rumours, causing fear in the community. Additionally, the disadvantages of social media can seen when people use it too much and gradually become overreliant. This is witnessed a lot in the young generation which grows up along with the developments of the Internet. Some of them consider chatting on social media as the right and only way to communicate and subsequently, do not know how to conduct real-life conversations.