Many people say that we now live in ‘consumer societies’ where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is an argument that consumer societies are essential. While others think that our lives will be developed by consumer culture. Consumer societies are important because people always want to improve their living standards and plan to save more before they retire. Consumer culture brings people a lot of values about history and tourism. I believe that people should keep a balance between consumer societies and consumer culture to have a better life. First of all, the living standards can be improved if people focus to make money and have more possessions. The more hours people work, the more money they earn. As a result of working hard, their living standards can be better, and people can have money for their families and avoid financial burdens. Moreover, a lot of people plan to save money as much as they can before they become the retirees. For example, the Government of Canada created of lot of saving plans for their citizens, so people will have better lives after they retire. Secondly, the values of History can be maintained when people consume culture. For example, on Canada Day, many families will come back to their homes to celebrate big parties where they can connect more with each other. Furthermore, consuming the culture is also helped develop tourism. For instance, when tourists travel to ethnic areas, they tend to follow the life of the locals. It not only helps to attract more tourists but also expends local culture to the world. In conclusion, consuming societies help people have a better living and are safer when they retire. Consumer culture helps maintain the history and develop tourism. If people balance both of them, they will live completely for the rest of their lives.