Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and reparing old buildings, so we knock down old buildings and buikd modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Whilst a substantial number of individuals assume that a large amount of money has been allocated to repairing and maintaining old constructions, I disagree with destructing old buildings as they are a part of culture and identity in each society. On the one hand, many people think that spending too much money on repairing and looking after old structures is a waste of money. This group claims that each construction has a lifespan that must not be extended. Moreover, they assert that these old buildings must be replaced by modern ones as they can change the outlook of the city, and it is not required to waste a tremendous amount of money to keep those old buildings. For example, in China, the government has tried to separate the old and modern areas and has modernized its cities in order to avoid dedicating maintenance expenses. However, there is another group of people who believe that a country and a city are known for their old buildings as well as their old constructions as these historical buildings can show the background and the identity of a country. Furthermore, instead of knocking down these old buildings, governments are responsible for dedicating some finance to renewing and repairing them. For instance, Japan has started to repair its old buildings as the rulers in this country believe that modern constructions cannot represent the original culture and beliefs of Japanese people, but rather old buildings are great representatives to reflect the elixir of Japanese culture. In conclusion, considering both viewpoints, although renewal and repairing old buildings is a waste of money, according to a group of people, I believe that old buildings and historical constructions are a significant part of each culture and society, and governments are responsible for protecting and renewing them.