Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not. Which view do you agree with and why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that Art is essential, while others think the contrary. I believe that Art is beneficial to represent our culture, express freedom of speech in a universal language and depict major events that occur in the world. Art may be considered as an issue in some countries, such as a source of disrespect and unethical, which is an infringement of freedom of speech. For example, in France, some books were banned because they were judged immoral. In 1947, the French writer Boris Vian wrote a book which was censured by the government, which considered this work unreadable by French families. Art, however, represents the culture of a nation or even a city, which can make people proud of their artists. For instance, a French grapher from Marseilles was asked recently to paint some local urban furniture which makes local people feel proud of him. In addition, Art allows people to express themselves in a language understandable to everyone. So Art can unify people altogether, such as museums which are places where people joined to contemplate works of art. Moreover, Art sometimes depicts major events interpreted by the vision of artists, which can broaden our minds and perspectives of what occurred. For example, in the late 30's, Picasso painted Guernica which represented the civil war in Spain, in a very particular way called cubism. In conclusion, whilst Art can be an issue in some countries, I believe that it is essential to express the freedom of speech, unify people and illustrate major events that occurred in the world by the artist's interpretation.