Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Types of approaches we should make to reduce crime rates have become a topic of widespread debate among society. While some individuals argue that increasing prison sentences' time is the solution, others contend that it would not be as effective and better solutions can be applied. I totally agree with the latter statement. I will delve into both claims in this essay. On one hand, Increasing the time spent in prison for criminals is suggested by some commentators. I can understand their perspective, in which they say that longer sentences prevents the potential future commiting crimes for the prisoners. when we raise the consequences for crimes, less people are eager to do them and thus crime rate declines. On the other hand, effects of greater punishments not only have never been positive, but also have been indeed detrimental in terms of crime rate. prisoners who stay longer in jails are usually damaged mentally and longer prison correlates with greater mental damages. Therefore, Other Alternatives are suggested to apply, such as educating prisoners, this has been proven that organization that hold educational classes in prions have been considerably succesfull in terms of dropping crime rates. In conclusion, while it may look like that prolonged prison sentences result in lower crime rates, it is actually the opposite and i completely agree that other methods should be implemented to reduce them.