The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Do the advantages of this type of information outweigh the disadvantages?

Although, much knowledge on the internet is free and accessible from anywhere through computers and smartphones, it also has negative aspects. In my opinion, the benefits of knowledge from the internet outweigh any potential negative impact it may have. Certainly, it must be acknowledged that there are some negative aspects to obtaining knowledge from the internet. Firstly, there may be questions regarding the trustworthiness of sources providing information, unlike journals or published books. Anyone can publish content online, regardless of their expertise or credibility. Secondly, this type of information varies quality, accuracy and reliability which can be challenging for users. Notwithstanding the aforementioned negative aspects, I believe the knowledge on the internet benefits people especially in the modern times. One major benefit is its vast amount of information on any topic, allowing people to explore diverse subjects and gain knowledge beyond what is available through other type of information. Furthermore, finding information on the internet is usually much faster compared to other methods such as searching through books or journals. With search engines, user can quickly locate to the relevant information with just a few clicks. In a nutshell, the wide range of subjects available and speed of searching for knowledge on the internet significantly outweigh the negative aspects that it may have.