Some people think that robots are important for humankind's future development. Others think that robots have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

They say that change is inevitable and this is clear with the current technology, which has given rise to more reliance on robots across the world. While some people believe that robots contribute significantly to the future development of mankind, others argue that they, in fact, have a negative societal impact. This essay will discuss why robots are essential for human development but why they can also be detrimental to society. Robots are certainly more effective in completing what would be considered by many as a laborious activity. They are more reliable and efficient in the sense that they can work round the clock and therefore, complete given tasks within a short period of time. Its efficiency and reliability are what make it an important factor in the development and sustainability of a future world. To illustrate this, supermarkets across Australia have now introduced automated teller machines to replace cashiers. These machines work twenty-four hours a week, including public holidays, which means that employers save a lot in terms of cost that would have otherwise been allocated to supermarket attendance. This illustrates how robots can contribute positively to the growth and sustainability of a nation. Loss of jobs is the main disadvantage of robot introduction. While robots can be quite instrumental, they also contribute to the loss of jobs which will in turn affect the growing society. It is clear that robots have the capacity to replace humans in the workforce as was stated in the previous example. Even though this is an important factor in many industries, many individuals will be rendered jobless which, may then, lead to increased crime and insecurities as many people, especially youths, will have no access to jobs and salaries. For instance, if a teenager loses their job at a supermarket due to the introduction of self-operated checkout machines, they will most likely resort to stealing, shoplifting or even robbery as a way of sustaining their livelihoods as well as maintaining their status. As a consequence, high crime rates and unemployment will further disadvantage the society. In conclusion, despite the numerous advantages associated with the use of robots, there are also drawbacks that are linked to it. This essay discussed the effective and efficient nature of robots in the workplace and addressed unemployment as a possible limitation and its devastating consequences in society