In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

The history of some residential places has attracted an increasing number of people who are living there to discover in some regions. This kind of trend may result from people's growing fear of unsafe surroundings and the awareness of cultural values. The discovery may be able to be conducted by seeking for elder generation's help and searching official documentation. With the increasing awareness of safety issues aroused among the populace, citizens' curiosity about the security level of their living environment may be a trigger for them to learn about the history, including what good or bad things happened previously and who lived at the same places in the past. This research could help them to build a comprehensive understanding of their surroundings and thus decide whether the current dwellings are safe enough to live in for a long time. For example, even bad luck in the living surroundings brought by bad things that happened before are resisted in some cultures. If one place has had a murder or tragic accident in the past, people who know about the story usually tend to refuse to settle there, because they don't expect the same tragedy to happen to them. Another reason why there's an increasing attention to the history of the residences may be the value given by the history of the house or building itself, which can be regarded as a price tag of the habitable places. In some countries, the domestic culture has a profound impact on the average's prospects towards life and key factors of decision, where houses are the important aspect that carries the historical value. There are two main approaches to revealing the living spots' history that are accessible to the majority. On one hand, for people who have been living in houses which are inherited, it's a straightforward way to inquire about the elder membership in their family for past information. On the other hand, people can seek answers from relative documents with assistance from the community administration. In conclusion, the tendency among people to become interested in the history of residential sites can be dated from the idea of safety protection as well as the worth carried by the history. People can discover them by asking their grandparents or looking up to the official records.