Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the last few decades, some developing countries have spent money on railways, whereas it might be have traffic conjunctions or need the new public transportation. However, if governments should spend money on roads, most individuals buy cars increase the traffic. On the one hand, frequently accessing railways is less expensive and more stable than using cars. People tend to save money on petrol and car maintenance by only buying a ticket for a train. Henceforth, through substituting vehicles with trains, there are fewer opportunities for cars to break down requiring less money to be spent on fixing the problems. Furthermore, the railway system runs on a strict schedule which prevents delays that can occur on the road like traffic jams. New York is a prime example of this, in which individuals opt for utilizing subways as it is a cheaper alternative and allow for more punctuality. On the other hand, public transport has greatly reduced the amount of pollution cities experience. Railroads have a larger capacity allowing a large quantity of people to travel in the same direction at the same time, lowering the amount of pollution emitted. However, with automobiles, there is a limit of five passengers causing a greater amount of cars to be on the road leading to the expulsion of more carbon emissions. For instance, the environmental benefit of railroads over roads has caused more experts to advocate for the usage of such systems. In conclusion, in my view, trains should be given priority over roads because they cost less money and are more constant. Moreover, it is a great way to help save the environment.