In many countries, people are now living longer then ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in some parts of the world, people are living longer compared to previous decades. There has been a debate on wheather this population brings more problems to governments or more beneficial. In my opinion, the disadvantages of having elderly population outweigh the advantages. One of the advantages of having elder population is that they can be main sources of local history. In many developing countries, students can delve into historical narratives about their hometown by conducting interviews with senior citizen. This is because they live in some historical periods such as World War 2, colonialism and early internet era. In Indonesia, for example, historians could write on social history of war against colonialism in the mid of 20th century employed interview method with elder citizens who lived in that period. Therefore, it is important for government to protect elderly people and ensures that their basic needs are fulfiled. However, other believe that an ageing inhabitants creates challenges for government, particularly in health services. The increasing number of people at age 70 to 80 are more likely have health problems such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and others. Consequently, the government should allocate their budget in order to take care of them. It means that the government tend to face some disadvantages because of this. The funding that they spent for assisting older citizens, for instance, can be allocated to other areas such as aducation and sports center for young generation. Hence, it can be said that the diadvantages advantages of having elderly people outweigh the advantages. In conclusion, while senior citizens may give benefits for writing local history, I argue that there are more problems of having older population such as health services that require more funding from the goverment. It is clear that the disadvantages outweigh the advatanges in terms of having senior population.