Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The government funding in the arts, such as music and theatre, is considered a bad financial decision. Instead, government funding should go to public services. Although I support that the government should invest in public services, such as transportation, I do not think that spending money on the arts is a waste. There are more reasons to spend money on public services, and one of them is transportation. It is easier for commuters to go to work if public transportation is integrated well. For example, there are approximately 15,890 people who live in a small city outside Jakarta called ‘Bekasi’ and work in central Jakarta, they need to use more than 1 public transportation to get there. In addition, according to an article published in the New York Times, ease of transportation in daily life can improve people’s quality of life. However, spending money on arts, especially in music and theatre is also important as it can contribute to economic growth. It is undeniable that the arts provide people with entertainment and yield psychological rewards, such as relief from stress. For example, the South by Southwest festival in Austin, Texas generates $355 million in revenue. Hence, it would be wrong to think that the government’s capital in arts will be a waste of money. To conclude, although investing in public services in order to improve current public transportation is important, I do believe that it is also important to allocate the government’s money to the arts as it potentially supports economic growth.