Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world and what effects does it have on the people concerned and society as a whole?

Evidence suggests that today, not having any education is become a concern in plenty of nations all over the world. This phenomenon is attributed to a number of causative factors, but the resulting issues are evident as well. As regards the root causes, there are two which should be taken into consideration. Firstly, poverty in specially undeveloped countries is to account for this problem. Simply put, poor people can not afford education expenses. For example, money in needed to provide students with books and covers schools' fee as well as commuting cost. Secondly, the facilities and amenities are not accessible for a wide rang of the public. That is, the fundamental needs such as schools or teachers to study are not provided by this regions' authorities to facilitate people's access to them. Take an remote village with the small community as an example; usually there is no educational centre in this areas and people have to sometimes go for miles and miles to get the place that the centre is. On the other hand, society faces significant problems due to illiteracy. First and foremost, poverty continues growing in poor countries. That is, economic growth decreases because of the lack of literated literature people and experties. As a result,job apportunities lost and society become poorer. For instance, the most essential demand for administtrative jobs is to be able to read, write and work with computers which the illiterate can not do any of them. Moreover, illiteracy effects politics. The uneducateds are less likely to choose their politicians consciously, therefore; democracy losts and inequality in society increases. To conclude, The main contributing factor behind illiteracy is poor people who can not pay the cost and the biggest problem caused by this trend is the development of poverty in these nations.